In the Church of the Holy Sepulchre for the first time expose stored under a marble slab stone, on which was lying the body of Christ
restaurerede the tomb of Jesus Christ in the Church of the Holy Sepulchre in Jerusalem, for the first time in several centuries marble was removed a protective plate from the stone upon which lay the body of Christ. According to the magazine National Geographic, the original stone surface will be studied by specialists and will be able to see the pilgrims.
Marble, presumably, it was found in was erected over the burial place of Jesus Christ, the Edicule – one of the main shrines of Christendom – in 1555.
“Marble cladding was removed, and we were surprised at the amount of material under it, – said the archaeologist of the National geographic society Fredrick hibert involved in the restoration. – There will be a long scientific analysis, but we are finally able to see the original surface of the stone, which, according to legend, was laid the body of Christ.”
According to experts, now there is the final stage of the restoration of the Shrine. “The methods that we use to explore this unique monument, to tell the world about our results as if the people themselves were found in the tomb of Christ,” said one of the scientists.
Restoration specialists of Athens national technical University, the staff of the University of Florence, as well as experts from Armenia. According to the plan in the Edicule must be reinforced structure, updated the joints, replaced the damaged fragments of stone veneer. The decoration will also clear from the stratified soot. Funded by all the owners of the rights to the Holy, Orthodox, Catholic and Armenian Apostolic Church.
The word “Edicule” comes from a Greek word koubouklion, which is translated as “bedchamber”. She looks like a chapel from the yellow-pink marble with an area of six by eight metres. It was erected over the Holy Sepulchre and the so-called chapel of the angel, sitting on the stone rolled away from the door of the sepulchre, the angel Gabriel announcing Christ’s resurrection to the myrrh-bearers. For believers this is a particularly Holy place.
The current Edicule – the third erected in the temple of the Resurrection chapel. The first was built in the year 335 the intention of the Emperor Constantine the Great. Her sculpture, made of ivory, is kept today in a Museum in Munich.
In 1009 the first Edicule was destroyed by the Muslims. By the middle of the XI century, the Shrine was rebuilt again by the Byzantine Emperor Constantine IX Monomakh. Franciscan Boniface Rogutsky in 1555 rebuilt the chapel, he laid on the stone bed of the skid plate. In 1808, the second Edicule together with other buildings of the temple were destroyed by fire. The author of the current chapels became a Greek architect Nicholas Komninos. She appeared in 1810 and has survived without restoration. It is believed that the chapel was by the standards, removed from copies of the Jerusalem Shrine, erected by Patriarch Nikon in the resurrection monastery of New Jerusalem.
We add that the responsibility for the Church of the Holy Sepulchre is divided between six denominations – the Greek Orthodox, Catholic, Armenian, Coptic, Syrian and Ethiopian, each of which is allocated their own sections and hours for prayers. To avoid misunderstandings, the parties involved in the distribution of property and services comply with historically established status quo, defined by the documents of the XVIII-XIX centuries. Legal, property and territorial boundaries assigned to each of the denominations, strictly specified. For example, no icon, no one lamp can not be added or removed without mutual consent.