The Finance Ministers of EU countries agreed on Tuesday, November 8, to be imposed against Crimean officials new personal sanctions, in addition to the existing ones, introduced after the annexation of Crimea to Russia in 2014, reports Reuters. Blacklist supplemented by six deputies of the state Duma of the Russian Federation, elected in the Crimea.

“The Council adopted new proposals on restrictive measures concerning actions that undermine the territorial integrity of Ukraine”, – said the Head of the Ministry of Finance Slovakiia Peter Kazimir at a press conference following the meeting of Finance Ministers of the EU, responding to a question whether sanctions against the Crimean politicians.

“I can’t go into details. You will learn from this communiqué that will probably follow tomorrow”, – quotes the statement of the Minister for journalists “Interfax”.

RIA “Novosti” with reference to the representative of the EU Council, who requested anonymity, said that the list includes the citizens of Russia and Ukraine. According to him, the decision was included in the agenda of the meeting of the Council of Ministers of economy and Finance of member countries of the EU and made “in connection with the actions undermining or threatening the territorial integrity, sovereignty and independence of Ukraine”.

The sanctions list was expanded at the initiative of Lithuania

As transfers TASS, the Minister of foreign Affairs of the Baltic Republic Linas Linkevičius said on the phone to the Lithuanian journalists from Bucharest, where he participated in the meeting, the foreign Ministers of nine countries of the Eastern flank of NATO that changes in the black list of citizens of Russia and Ukraine were made at the initiative of Lithuania.

The representative of the foreign Ministry of Lithuania kęstutis Vaškelevičius, told the newspaper “Kommersant”that the attached list of state Duma deputies from the Crimea and Sevastopol. “I can confirm that today has been expanded sanctions list, Lithuania was among the countries that initiated the expansion. This is our firm position, not only Lithuania, but the EU support the territorial integrity and sovereignty of Ukraine”, – said Vaškelevičius.

Only in the state Duma seven deputies from the Crimea Konstantin Bakharev, Andrei Kozenko, Svetlana Savchenko Ruslan Balbec, Paul Speraw, Mikhail Sheremet and Natalya Poklonskaya. Sheremet and Poklonskaya already appear in the sanctions list of the EU, Sebastopol in the state Duma is Dmitry Belik.

The Minister of foreign Affairs of Lithuania Linas Linkevičius has already acted with an appeal to impose on them restrictive measures. “The elect, allegedly, in Crimea the members of the Duma, we will not consider the deputies of the Duma, with all the ensuing consequences, – he said on 23 September in an interview with Delfi. – Their status is definitely unwanted in our country and I hope that throughout the EU”.

Personal sanctions involving visa bans and the freezing of assets taken against 146 people and 37 organizations, 7 September, they were extended until March 15, 2017.

In addition to them, the EU imposed against Russia economic sanctions (sectoral restrictive measures) that will be valid until 31 January 2017, as well as sanctions against the Crimea, the validity of which expires on 23 June 2017. The extension of economic sanctions associated with the lack of progress in the implementation of the Minsk agreements, which reglamentary peaceful settlement of the conflict in the East of Ukraine.

The EU added to the sanctions list of deputies of the state Duma of the Russian Federation of the Crimea and Sevastopol 09.11.2016

Share this news

Share to Google Plus
Share to LiveJournal