The international Association of athletics federations (IAAF) announced the short-lists of candidates for the title of the best athletes in 2016 among men and women.

As informs a press-service of the organization, in men the top three candidates was a nine-time Olympic champion in the women’s sprint Usain Bolt, four-time Olympic champion in run on middle and long distance, the Briton Mo Farah and Olympic champion in the women’s sprint the South African Wade van Niekerk.

Bolt earlier, five-time winner of this prize, which is a record. Farah was previously recognized as the athlete of the year in Europe

In women, the prestigious award claim Ethiopian runner long-distance Olympic champion Almaz Ayana, Jamaican Sprinter’s sprint, Olympic champion Elaine Thompson and the Polish hammer javelin thrower, Olympic champion Anita Wlodarczyk.

The finalists were determined by voting on the list of ten candidates. All the winners won the gold medal at the Olympic games in 2016 in Rio de Janeiro.

Winners will be announced by 2 December 2016 at the ceremony Awards Night in Monaco.

Recall that Russian athletes suspended national Federation is suspended from participation in international competitions and, therefore, the nomination could not get there.

The IAAF has reduced the number of contenders for the title “Athlete of the year” 09.11.2016

Share this news

Share to Google Plus
Share to LiveJournal