The new President of the International Paralympic Committee (IPC) General Assembly in Abu Dhabi (UAE) was elected as the Brazilian Andrew Parsons.

In this position, he replaced the 67-year-old Briton Philip Craven, who was at the head of the organization for the past 16 years.

For the post of President of the IPC also claimed Patrick Jarvis (Canada), John Petersson (Denmark) and Heidi Zhang (China). 40-year-old Parsons has won the first round of voting, it was given to 84 votes, according to the press service of the IPC.

Vice-President of the IPC elected a four-time Paralympic swimming champion new Zealander Dwayne Cale. With two voices, he walked only rival is former presidential candidate Petterson.

Andrew Parsons, who had served as Vice President of the IPC, became the third President of the organization, which traces its history back to 1989 and is responsible for the development of the Paralympic movement around the world.

Parsons advocated the restoration of the membership of the RCC

As stated by a member of the Executive Committee of the Russian Paralympic Committee (RCC) and the Council of the IPC athletes Mikhail Terentiev, the election of Parsons can have a positive impact on the decision of a question on participation of Russian athletes at the Paralympics in 2018.

“It is quite a positive attitude to the restoration of the membership of the RCC and supported this decision at the Board meeting of the IGC, which was on the eve of elections. I think it will positively affect the work with the PPR and the decision of a question on participation of our team at the Paralympics in 2018,” – said Terentyev Agency “R-Sport”.

Recall that the Executive Committee of the IPC following the meeting in Abu Dhabi , extended the RCC suspension, lasting from August 2016. The Russians were allowed to participate in the selection for the Paralympics in 2018 in neutral status.

The international Paralympic Committee chose a new President 10.09.2017

Share this news

Share to Google Plus
Share to LiveJournal