The Nobel prize for literature 2016 awarded by an American performer and songwriter Bob Dylan is reported in Twitter of the Nobel Committee.

The prize was awarded to Dylan “the creation of a new poetic expression in the great American song tradition”, said in a press release the Swedish Academy.

The permanent Secretary of the Academy Sara Danius said that the decision of academics to award the award to Bob Dylan was unanimous. “He creates poems that are designed for performance. In this work Dylan is rooted in the tradition of the ancient Greeks, poetry which also played a certain way. In the works of Dylan reflects deep traditions, they connect with music on a high artistic level,” – said in an interview with Swedish television SVT Danius, quoted by RIA “Novosti”.

Creative career of 75-year-old American singer-songwriter, artist, writer, and actor Bob Dylan has been ongoing for more than five decades. According to the magazine Rolling Stone, Dylan – second only to The Beatles in importance to the performer in music history. His most
known songs are considered to be Like a Rolling Stone, Blowin’ in the Wind,
Knockin’ on Heaven’s Door and Mr. Tambourine Man. On account of Dylan more than 50 albums and nine Grammy awards. In 1988, he entered the Hall of fame rock-n-roll.

In 2008 Bob Dylan received a Pulitzer prize “for outstanding impact on popular music and American culture, marked by lyrical compositions of exceptional poetic power.”

On the eve of awarding the prize for literature bookies was called among the main contenders for the award of the Japanese writer Haruki Murakami, Kenyan novelist and playwright Ngugi BA thiongo, an American writer, playwright and critic Joyce Carol Oates, and Pulitzer prize winner Philip Roth, Norwegian playwright and poet Jon Fosse and the Syrian poet Adonis (Ali Ahmad sa’id, Asbar). Mentioned Bob Dylan, and American writer Thomas Pynchon and his compatriot, the novelist and critic Ursula Le GUIN.

The Nobel prize in literature is awarded annually since 1901 by the Nobel Foundation. During this period, the prize was 112 people, including 14 women. Often the award was received by writers from France, however the majority of winners (27) wrote his works in English.

The first Russian writer, was awarded the 1933 Nobel prize was Ivan Bunin. The award was also given to Mikhail Sholokhov, Alexander Solzhenitsyn and Joseph Brodsky. Boris Pasternak was forced to decline the award due to pressure from the Soviet authorities and the public.

The winner of the Nobel prize for literature 2015 was the writer from Belarus Svetlana Aleksievich. And the list of British bookmakers then, among others, also featured Bob Dylan.

The amount of the award as other Nobel prizes is eight million Swedish kronor (about 906 thousands of U.S. dollars at current exchange rates). The award ceremony will be held on 10 December, the day of Alfred Nobel’s death. Five prizes – in physiology and medicine, physics, chemistry and literature, as well as in Economics – will be presented in Stockholm. The peace prize will be awarded in Oslo on December 10.

Earlier it became known winners of other Nobel prizes. The award in Economics was awarded to Oliver HART and Bengt Holmstrom for establishing the theory of contracts. The peace prize has decided to award to Colombian President Juan Manuel Santos. The prize in chemistry was shared by Jean-Pierre Sauvage, Bernard Feringa and Fraser Stoddart for the design and synthesis of molecular machines. The prize in physics was awarded to David Taules, Duncan Haldane and Michael Kosterlitz for topological phase transitions. Prize in medicine and physiology was awarded to 71-year-old Japanese scientist, asinari Osumi.

The Nobel prize for literature was awarded to Bob Dylan 13.10.2016

Share this news

Share to Google Plus
Share to LiveJournal